Aftermarket Tach install - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2008, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Aftermarket Tach install

Hey all, I have a '98 F150 4x4 4.6L w/o a factory tach in the cluster, just wondering which wire I will need to tap into to get a signal, I picked up a tach that had the option of just using a spark plug wire but the signal is too erratic and I would like to just hook it up directly to the source, any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
notmuchmud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2008, 12:18 AM
 
fordtough.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 7,721
fordtough.ca is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:48 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
it has the standard 4 wires, (black,white,green,red) and a brown wire that has a thing that replaces the green wire in the install, its an equus i bought from crappy tire...haha
notmuchmud is offline  
 
Old 04-01-2008, 04:55 PM
 
fordtough.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 7,721
Most aftermarket tachs have a switch, on the back or inside to select the # of cylinders

Also see below:





100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
fordtough.ca is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Yah, it has a switch on the back but you only use that if you use the green wire cuz the spark plug wire pick-up elimates the use for the selector switch, but i will call around and see if i can find one with a tach in it already, i never thought of it, it would sure make things easier, i really don't like cutting into wires so that would eliminate that!
notmuchmud is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 09:49 PM
 
1white08fx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London,Ont
Posts: 874
With most aftermarket tachs,you will need the tach adapter to work with the Ford Ignition,had to on my '03 Mustang GT,and had to on my '85 Mustang GT.If this was for the '98 mustang,i would able to help you LOL,but i'm not familiar with the wiring harness of the modular Ford F series pick ups yet.

2008 Oxford White F150 FX2 SPORT Super Crew,5.4L.
2003 Satin Silver Clearcoat Mustang GT,4.6L 2V,5 speed.
stripped,slammed,& cammed!

aka 1LOW03GT
1white08fx2 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 11:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Ahh ok....that makes more sense, I must have read through the instructions a ton of times for the install but nothing i did worked, the adapter would make sense tho, i will call around for wrecking yards tomorrow, i found a cluster out of i think it was around a '99 lighting but i wasn't sure if the 4.6 and the 5.4 gauge clusters were the same, hey grafix, that does look a ton better with the tach, it looks like the same one out of the superduty, except it doesn't say diesel fuel only...haha
notmuchmud is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 01:26 AM
 
f150phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London, ON
Posts: 2,299
Would installing a cluster w/tach that has the digital odometer work in the 97-98s that have the analog odometer?


Whaddya mean I dont pay my bills?? Whydya think I'm broke!!

03 Lariat Crew 4x4 Line-x bedliner, Truxedo Lo-Pro QT Tonneau.
RIP [97 XL 4.2L V6]
f150phule is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 06:17 PM
 
f150phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London, ON
Posts: 2,299
Crap..thought I might have found a good deal...

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...MEWA:IT&ih=006

Marco --- how hard was it to find an analog cluster w/tach?? Price range??


Whaddya mean I dont pay my bills?? Whydya think I'm broke!!

03 Lariat Crew 4x4 Line-x bedliner, Truxedo Lo-Pro QT Tonneau.
RIP [97 XL 4.2L V6]
f150phule is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
i managed to find an analog cluster for $100, i didn't have a hard time findin it, just called a few wreckin yards and they had a few to choose from, i was able to find the tach signal wire under the hood so i just used that one instead, i had already drilled the holes and mounted the tach so i figured it was easier tappin into a wire than it would be to yank out the cluster, it was the pink w/ white stripe which i found in the haynes manual
notmuchmud is offline  
 
Thread Tools



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new gauge cluster w/Tach f150phule Interior 9 10-19-2008 07:51 PM
aftermarket LayinHp Excursion, Expedition, Navigator, Bronco, Explorer, Escape, Flex, Edge 1 03-08-2008 05:35 PM
Aftermarket Wheels Advice white4by4 Wheels and Tires 8 01-19-2008 12:05 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome