Transmission cooler line problem - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2010, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Lancaster,On
Posts: 53
Transmission cooler line problem

Hi guys,

I have a cooler line probs on the 99 F150 4.6l. The entire lines (3) are worth $ 300.00. Since I don't use the truck and only start it for now ( to ensure the engine don't seize), I would like to fix it cheaper... Is there a way to simply unplug the cooler until I change the line ?

Thanks for you help
blueghost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-01-2010, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Powell River, BC
Posts: 135
connect a hose to the lines so it bypasses the cooler, just don't drive it for more than a mie or two on normal roads.
ronburgundy is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 09:09 AM
 
swackly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omemee Ontario
Posts: 547
Just use high pressure gas line to connect the roten spots and double clamp it. Older ford have pieces from factory like that.
swackly is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 03:15 PM
 
shelbyx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: bonnyville alberta
Posts: 2,401
just repair the lines with hp oil/fuel compatable hose and don't forget to flare the line ends to help retain the hose.


a moments silence for the shelbyx,i hope her new owner enjoys as much.
shelbyx1 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-25-2010, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Lancaster,On
Posts: 53
Thanks for your answers

I don't drive the truck yet, as I need to have an inspection and have some major repairs to do, like the entire exhaust that have to be changed (manifolds, cats, muffler,etc...). For now, I only start it and try to make it move a little.

Is there a loop that can be made between the input / output at the transmission side ? It's a temporary fix, until I have more cash to simply change all the lines at once

Thanks
blueghost is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-29-2010, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Lancaster,On
Posts: 53
Thanks guys I finally opted to a brand new line... cost me around $170 and it took me around 4 hours to replace it...but it's done It was the upper radiator/lower transmission line. Now,have to very the leak in the power steering. Thanks again for all your advice
blueghost is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transmission shifting problem lilbruicer F-150 1997 to 2003 /04 Heritage Forum 6 11-12-2009 11:29 PM
Transmission problem lilbruicer F-150 1997 to 2003 /04 Heritage Forum 5 03-27-2009 03:03 PM
INSTALLED TRANNY COOLER.... THE H.P FREAK Ranger Forum 2 01-27-2009 11:41 AM
RELOCATED MY TRANNY COOLER.... THE H.P FREAK Ranger Forum 5 01-15-2009 12:53 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome