broken windshield?? - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-20-2012, 01:40 PM Thread Starter

broken windshield??

sitting at crappy tire gas bar pumping gas today, and away she went. .Went right from the passenger side below the wiper, up about 6 inches and went all the way across to the drivers side. Went right to the dealership and thay said thay have seen this before? Not covered under my aftermarket warranty, so looks like I'm out 400 buck...lol The weird thing is this has never happened to me before? had a couple windshield fail due to repeated exposure to too much bass (LOL) but just sitting there? My guess has got to be improper install from the factory, but i'm no expert so I'm chalkin it up to bad luck...lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-20-2012, 03:10 PM

Did you have a rock chip that wasn't fixed?

A big change in temperature (eg. turning the defrost on full) can turn a rock chip into a big crack. That had happened to me in Nov/Dec 2011.

Dave

2010 Ford Ranger FX4
Armaguard sprayed on bed liner
Truxedo Low Pro QT tonneau cover
Studded General Altimax Arctic P245/75-16 winter tires on black steelies
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-20-2012, 07:54 PM

Send a message via MSN to Viper238
Quote:
Originally Posted by quick98gtp View Post
sitting at crappy tire gas bar pumping gas today, and away she went. .Went right from the passenger side below the wiper, up about 6 inches and went all the way across to the drivers side. Went right to the dealership and thay said thay have seen this before? Not covered under my aftermarket warranty, so looks like I'm out 400 buck...lol The weird thing is this has never happened to me before? had a couple windshield fail due to repeated exposure to too much bass (LOL) but just sitting there? My guess has got to be improper install from the factory, but i'm no expert so I'm chalkin it up to bad luck...lol