2011 remote start - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: york region
Posts: 9
2011 remote start

I was just wondering if has anyone has installed a ford remote start on their 2011 truck. if so did you need to go back to the dealer to have the computer programmed to accept the unit as well as having to reprogram the new keys for the anti theft.
parkside is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 10:19 AM
Mechanic
 
Swiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 14
My remote start came from the factory installed.

from what i have read the dealer needs to program the computer to make the remote start work.
Swiper is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 06:00 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
Quote:
Originally Posted by parkside View Post
I was just wondering if has anyone has installed a ford remote start on their 2011 truck. if so did you need to go back to the dealer to have the computer programmed to accept the unit as well as having to reprogram the new keys for the anti theft.
There's a couple different options, One option is Adding a separate fob. So you will have your regular key and a remote starter Fob.
Another option is replacing the key with the remote start key/ fob and keyless options on it.

The actual remote start brain needs to be activated in the BCM which has to be done by ford.

If you go with the key/fob unit you can program them you self if you have 2 OEM working keys but they will need to be cut.

I've done a lot of research on this and plan on doing it soon


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 06:48 PM
 
Boss F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Embro, ON
Posts: 273
I got a viper smart start put on mine. It also has GPS tracking system on it. It allows me to start my truck from my iPhone anytime anywhere I have service. And it has a bunch if GPS capabilities on it as well

2012 STX 5.0L Sturgis/Boss 302
Boss F150 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 07:21 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss F150 View Post
I got a viper smart start put on mine. It also has GPS tracking system on it. It allows me to start my truck from my iPhone anytime anywhere I have service. And it has a bunch if GPS capabilities on it as well
and you have a monthly/yearly fee.
Viper238 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 08:52 PM
 
Boss F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Embro, ON
Posts: 273
Yes to use with the iPhone or GPS but I also have a fab that works it if I am close enough. Can be done with either system. Besides is a cool toy.

2012 STX 5.0L Sturgis/Boss 302
Boss F150 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 08:12 AM
Apprentice
 
GoManGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
I am getting a compustart 2way installed in my 2013 in january......I'll tell you what if you want, I will have the garbage truck deliver you the stock one I pull out......LOL

They are complete crap in my mind, no range, no confirmation on start up and you might as well be in it and start with the key....
GoManGo is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 09:59 AM
 
Manford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
I just installed the 2nd tier FRPP remote start for our Fusion by the dealer. The last thing I wanted is for a stereo tech thinking because he has had a weekend course, that he is qualified to reprogram the cars EPCM. I can start the car from 150-200 m away which is more that enough for me.

I had to take it back and have them de-program some new features, like the car shuts off when you open the door or the trunk......now who thought those safety featrues up I have no idea. Now it works just like I want it to.

__________

ManFord
Manford is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 09:27 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
I just recieved my plug n play starter.
Very easy to install.

Basically an antenna held by 2 zip ties. 1 wire.
Recieved 2 new/more keys w/ integrated fob that have the start button.

All that is left is get the keys cut.
Program the keys myself. Takes 30secs.
Go to the stealership and have them activate it.

Might try telling them it stopped working and seeing if they will do it for free.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 04:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 25
I have installed it and have the instructions, dealer has to do the IDS part take that page to them as most don't know anything about remote start. Takes then literally 15 minutes and than includes driving the truck into the bay.










caperj is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEED HELP: Remote start question thepike F-150 2009 to 2014 Forum 2 09-27-2011 11:37 PM
Anybody instal remote start themselves? benyl F-150 2009 to 2014 Forum 9 01-24-2011 06:43 PM
remote starters arboc Audio and Electronics 9 06-27-2010 07:06 PM
Remote start won't start MrSen F-150 2004 to 2008 Forum 8 12-04-2009 07:58 PM
Remote starter, who has one? fordtough.ca Truck/SUV Talk 12 09-27-2008 02:20 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome