wrench sign - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
 
2MUCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 211
wrench sign

Well today I started the truck with the auto start. As I got to the truck I noticed I had to scrape the windows. As I was doing so the trucks idle slowed down. When I got back in the truck { about 10 min. time lasp} to leave for work the screen on the dash had the big yellow screen with the wrench sing up. I clicked ok so it would go away. But I could not rev the engine and when moving in reverse it was slow backing out of my driveway. When I put it into drive the truck would move very slow and still not let me rev the engine at all. At that point I shut the truck off and started it up right away. No yellow wrench sign and the truck seamed fine. I drove to work parked it outside and drove it home 12 hours later. Still doing fine. I will hook up the SCT tuner tomorrow and see if there is any codes.

Does any of you have any idea's what could be wrong?

2012 FX4 5.0 SuperCrew, Magna Flow, dual exhaust, G2 folding hardtop, 60" rear brake/turn light, SCT/ITSX, 295/60R20 Nitto Trail Grapplers, 5star pro tune, N-Fab Pre-Runner Light Bar, 3 9" Hella Rallye 4000 lights, 6" Pro Comp Suspension Lift, K/N Cold Air Kit...
2MUCH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 09:04 PM
 
herbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Posts: 1,117
Send a message via MSN to herbz
If it wouldn't move very quickly I'd say the truck went in to limp mode on start up. Its odd that you restarted it and it went away.

2016 F150 XLT XTR 4x4 2.7 Ecoboost
herbz is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
 
2MUCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 211
Thanks for the info. I googled limp mode and looked at this site.

http://www.ehow.com/info_12199368_me...limp-mode.html

And it looks like I got lucky...

Correcting the Condition
If your vehicle is in limp mode, when you get to safety you may be able to shut the vehicle off and wait a few minutes, and then start the vehicle again. Sometimes, this will reset the electronic controls, restoring valid data. You should still have your vehicle checked as soon as possible, because the original fault may still be present. If the vehicle does not reset, you will need to take the vehicle to a repair facility for proper diagnosis and repair.



Read more: What Does It Mean When a Car Goes Into Limp Mode? | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/info_12199368_me...#ixzz2IxdQcXX4

2012 FX4 5.0 SuperCrew, Magna Flow, dual exhaust, G2 folding hardtop, 60" rear brake/turn light, SCT/ITSX, 295/60R20 Nitto Trail Grapplers, 5star pro tune, N-Fab Pre-Runner Light Bar, 3 9" Hella Rallye 4000 lights, 6" Pro Comp Suspension Lift, K/N Cold Air Kit...
2MUCH is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 06:38 AM
 
RedThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 390
So did it throw any codes?
RedThunder is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 09:36 AM
 
I like Fords Too's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scarborough Ontario
Posts: 719
just throwing a guess to the wind
I don't know about Hamilton but it was 7*F in T-O yesterday , maybe you got a false reading from a sensor - or one the computer thought had to be false

or maybe a frosted up & stuck idle speed motor ??
I like Fords Too is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
 
2MUCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedThunder View Post
So did it throw any codes?
Well no codes were displayed, so I guess things are ok

2012 FX4 5.0 SuperCrew, Magna Flow, dual exhaust, G2 folding hardtop, 60" rear brake/turn light, SCT/ITSX, 295/60R20 Nitto Trail Grapplers, 5star pro tune, N-Fab Pre-Runner Light Bar, 3 9" Hella Rallye 4000 lights, 6" Pro Comp Suspension Lift, K/N Cold Air Kit...
2MUCH is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 10:30 PM
 
RedThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 390
Not much else you can do then if there's no codes to look up. Keep truckin then.
RedThunder is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 11:25 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
ford won't do anything if there isn't a code.
so keep'er truckin!
Viper238 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 06:49 AM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,741
Garage
Ford may also not do anything if there's a program tune in the computer that isn't factory.

Just sayin' is all, they're a little funny about things like that.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 09:37 AM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
^^^
That's an easy fix, swap it back to stock.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEED HELP: Wrench Symbol Chipmunk Gas Engines 9 09-01-2012 01:12 AM
Impact Wrench electric or air? romaniuk Tools 23 03-04-2012 06:38 PM
Torque wrench f150phule Tools 20 11-23-2008 01:18 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome