Tpms fault - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-18-2014, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
 
TRNRBILT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kilbride,Ontario
Posts: 362
Tpms fault

Ok I just put the summers back on my '09 last night. I went around the block just to make sure everything was good (and show off the recently washed summer mode) and never had any issues. Today I drove 20-25kms to my uncles place and the TPMS light came on as well as a TPMS sensor fault on the display. It didn't list a tire that is low. All are at 30psi. I ran these rims and tires all last summer and never had an issue. They have OEM ford sensors installed in the tires. Any ideas?

Thanks James

If the mud ain't flyin' ... You ain't tryin'

2009 F-150 XLT 4x4 4.6L 2" Ready lift front and rear
1989 Bronco II 4x4 2.9L 6 - 8" skyjacker lift front and rear
1987/89 Bronco II 4x4 work in progress. Full size Dana 44,Ford 8.8 5.0L swap coming
TRNRBILT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2014, 04:33 AM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,741
Garage
When I get winters/summers swapped, the tech always has to go around to all four corners and scan in the new TPMS sensors so the system will recognize they're back on the vehicle.

I've had years where they have forgotten, got about five kilometres away and had the light come on, turned out they forgot to scan them in.

Got the TPMS sensors on both of my sets, so the only thing I can guess is that if the pressures are good, you need to get the sensors "introduced" to the computer maybe.

It's like a voodoo ritual, you gotta turn the key on and off three times fast, hit the brake twice and then go around to all four corners, horn beeps each time to acknowledge it worked.

Just a thought.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2014, 06:06 AM
 
TRUKNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mississauga Ont
Posts: 1,813
This happened to me the first time I had my tires changed at the dealer . When I called to ask what I should do they told me to drive the truck several km and the computer would pick up the TPMS sensors . By the time I got home the display lights were out .


Load It Like A Railcar........................... Drive It Like A Stockcar..........................
TRUKNUT is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2014, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
 
TRNRBILT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kilbride,Ontario
Posts: 362
Well I've tried all the reset methods that I could find on the internet for doing it without the tool and none work. I can get it to go into the learn mode but then it won't pick up the tire. It's strange because last year I just swapped from my stock tires to the summers and everything worked fine. Switched back to my stockers in the fall and all was good. Now it won't go out for the summers. I've got a buddy who has a reset tool so I'll have to give it a try.

If the mud ain't flyin' ... You ain't tryin'

2009 F-150 XLT 4x4 4.6L 2" Ready lift front and rear
1989 Bronco II 4x4 2.9L 6 - 8" skyjacker lift front and rear
1987/89 Bronco II 4x4 work in progress. Full size Dana 44,Ford 8.8 5.0L swap coming
TRNRBILT is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2014, 01:03 PM
 
Canadian Bacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Milton/ Georgetown, Ontario
Posts: 741
Reset tool is $40 go buy it at the dealer. If you keep driving it should re learn on its own. If not I vote for a bad sensor. Maybe the battery died.

Nicole - 2004 Ford F-150 Lightning #3573
Emily - 2010 Ford F-150 FX4

Amsoil Independent Dealer
Amsoil Home Page
Canadian Bacon is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2014, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Whitehorse, YT
Posts: 71
First verify the correct tire pressures. Isn't the spec 35 psi on these? Reference the placard on the driver's door.

Following that attempt to train all of the sensors. The tool can be had over the parts counter at your local Ford store - I'll provide the tool # off of mine when I go to work tomorrow. My cost was $25, yours will likely be in the $40 range as mentioned.

The training procedure is key on 3 times quickly, press the brake pedal once, key on 3 times quickly and finish by leaving the key on. This has sequence must be completed in approx 8 seconds.

Start by training the l/front, then r/front, r/rear and finally l/rear. The horn will honk each time a sensor trains, and after successful training of all four tires the cluster message centre will read 'training complete'.

If one tire will not train move to the next tire. Then go back to the suspect sensor and retry. If it still will not train then you have your answer.

2003 GMC Sierra 3500 -- dually, 4x4, hasn't blown up yet and that's what i look for in a truck

Ford Doctor -- They come in broken and leave fixed. Ford of Canada Master Tech
Varsity Tyler is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 11:49 AM
 
Canadian Bacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Milton/ Georgetown, Ontario
Posts: 741
Tool Part # TPMS-19

Nicole - 2004 Ford F-150 Lightning #3573
Emily - 2010 Ford F-150 FX4

Amsoil Independent Dealer
Amsoil Home Page
Canadian Bacon is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 08:15 PM
 
b4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeastern BC
Posts: 996
Sorry to hear you're having TPMS problems. As some of you know, I'm a big fan of this technology. It solves the hassle and outrageous expense of checking tire pressure the old fashioned way, once and for all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKdcjJoXeEY

Or not.

If Princess Auto were a real girl, I'd ask her to marry me.
b4000 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
 
TRNRBILT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kilbride,Ontario
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by b4000 View Post
Sorry to hear you're having TPMS problems. As some of you know, I'm a big fan of this technology. It solves the hassle and outrageous expense of checking tire pressure the old fashioned way, once and for all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKdcjJoXeEY

Or not.

Hahaha. Ya that's exactly how I feel about them. I check tire pressures still even with them. I'm not concerned about them not working it's just the light being on all the time that I can't stand.

If the mud ain't flyin' ... You ain't tryin'

2009 F-150 XLT 4x4 4.6L 2" Ready lift front and rear
1989 Bronco II 4x4 2.9L 6 - 8" skyjacker lift front and rear
1987/89 Bronco II 4x4 work in progress. Full size Dana 44,Ford 8.8 5.0L swap coming
TRNRBILT is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-22-2014, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
 
TRNRBILT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kilbride,Ontario
Posts: 362
Got it all fixed today. Was taking a second look at the princess auto flyer at work seeing what I could waste my money on this week and wouldn't ya know it they had an AUTEL TS401 tool on sale for $200 instead of $320. A little more than the ford tool but this one does every vehicle on the road (even Honda motorcycles). Also tells you the tire pressure in each wheel when programming it, the id #'s of each sensor, tire temps, battery condition and also can check key fob batteries and frequencies. Figured if I'm going to need the tool I might aswell get the tool that can do it all.

If the mud ain't flyin' ... You ain't tryin'

2009 F-150 XLT 4x4 4.6L 2" Ready lift front and rear
1989 Bronco II 4x4 2.9L 6 - 8" skyjacker lift front and rear
1987/89 Bronco II 4x4 work in progress. Full size Dana 44,Ford 8.8 5.0L swap coming
TRNRBILT is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's Ontario's fault! where do I put it?? Ol Skool Interior 42 03-01-2012 10:05 AM
TPMS teknoteach Wheels and Tires 25 10-05-2011 01:21 PM
tpms reset tool benyl F-150 2009 to 2014 Forum 5 12-20-2010 05:38 PM
TPMS? ric_no_k Wheels and Tires 16 09-19-2010 11:59 PM
TPMS for 2004 SCrew? SCrew Lariat F-150 2004 to 2008 Forum 0 07-12-2010 01:29 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome