NEED HELP: 2011 Platinum 6.2L DRL Resistor - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 02:12 PM Thread Starter
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 3
2011 Platinum 6.2L DRL Resistor

Hi Everyone

After exhausting a number of avenues I thought I would check with the community since you guys seem to know more than most shops. I recently installed a set of ANZO Angel Eyes Projectors with HID bulbs in my truck. Long story short the DRL Resistor is killing the bulb on my passenger side due to the fact it reduces power to the lights during the day, this of course is a bad thing for HID's as they require constant full power to operate properly.

What i want to do is disable the DRL's completely, (Yes i know its illegal to not have DRL's but my signal lights and Halo's will function as DRL's, and that is plenty considering as stock F150 HID's only have the signal lights as DRL) A local performance shop told me what they do when they install the lights is either disconnect the resistor completely or bypass it. Bypassing it would just mean having full power lights at all times of the day whereas disconnecting just turns of the DRL's completely.

So first question, Is the resistor the easiest spot to do this and secondly where the heck is it. Everywhere i have read says its right behind my drivers side headlight but its not. Now my 6.2 might be laid out a bit differently than the 3.5 and 5.0 Engines, I'm not sure. I know what it looks like and i know where it is on trucks prior to 09 but i haven't found anything to help me on late model F150's
tigman88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 03:41 PM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,730
Garage
Welcome to fordtough.ca, home of the Canadian F150 enthusiast.

We got just the guy for your problem, he's earned the nickname of Resident Mad Scientist, and although he's not around as much as he used to be, I'm betting he's got your answer.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 03:53 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
2011 Platinum 6.2L DRL Resistor

Okay, so...

Are you running a BiXenon relay pack for the ballasts?

2011 doesn't have a "resistor" that you can bypass.
The computer actually pulses the wire with 12volts 80% of the time leaving with lower voltage.

The only way to properly disable is go to ford and have them program the truck as a U.S. truck tricking it into disabling/shutting off the DRLs.

What I do for custom DRLs is, dbl relay pack. One sending power when ignition is one, other one disables power when headlight power is detected. Then get ford to disable the DRLs and your good.


Edit:
If you are running a relay kit for the HIDs you shouldn't be having this issue because it supplies full power when there is light regardless whether it is DRL or full headlights.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 3
No I am not running a relay kit. Would you mind explaining what it is and where i can get one?

Not sure what kind of luck i will have finding a dealership willing to disable DRL's
tigman88 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-29-2014, 12:04 AM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
http://www.theretrofitsource.com/com...harnesses.html

A relay harness provides full power from the battery when the trigger wire (headlight harness) activates the relay.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-29-2014, 04:10 AM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,730
Garage
Told yah. Thanks for checking in Travis.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-29-2014, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 3
Thanks for the help. So being my stock lights are H13's but the new HID's are H1 which kit would i buy? I assume the H13 kit since i didn't change any wiring correct?
tigman88 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-30-2014, 12:37 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
What are your highbeams?

H13 yes to plug into factory.

But you probably will need something or a Y cable to plug into your highbeams.

The other problem is the quality of those lights. The "projectors" arent real projectors as they are a reflector with a lens on it. So light output is less then acceptable.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 06:04 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Whitehorse, YT
Posts: 71
DRL is likely a 'progammable parameter' on the 2011 1/2 tons. The beauty of multiplexing and networking is that computer code takes the place of actual hard parts. As stated there is no longer a physical resistor or relay for the DRL system. Instead, the body control module (aka interior fuse box) provides a pulse width modified ground in order to reduce the on time of the headlamp. This is programmed into the BCM, and of course there's no difference between the BCM on US and Canadian units save for the programming.

The next time I have an '11 in my bay I'll hook it up to the IDS and check out what parameters I can program. For sure it's open to programming on late model Super Duties and E-Vans (I've turned on DRLs on these units entering the country), but I can't remember 100% if 1/2 tons can be modified the same way.

2003 GMC Sierra 3500 -- dually, 4x4, hasn't blown up yet and that's what i look for in a truck

Ford Doctor -- They come in broken and leave fixed. Ford of Canada Master Tech
Varsity Tyler is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 10:34 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
Yes it is programmable via BCM.

In order to shut off the factory DRL the truck has to be tricked into thinking its a US truck. I've had it done as well as other truck owners.

From what I've been told the '13s have an option to in the BCM to state the truck has HIDs which changes the DRLs to the signal bulb instead of the headlight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan resistor lilmustangboy F-150 2004 to 2008 Forum 5 04-26-2011 05:18 AM
NEED HELP: Blower Resistor Caged F-150 2004 to 2008 Forum 1 02-07-2010 11:50 PM
'10 platinum zeke1030 F-150 2009 to 2014 Forum 2 10-11-2009 05:22 PM
Blower Motor Resistor Fordwheeler Super Duty Forum 7 02-17-2009 03:34 PM
NEED HELP: No DRL...?? conductr Lighting 31 02-11-2009 02:37 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome