Grounds - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 01:19 AM Thread Starter
 
kidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham,ON
Posts: 79
Grounds

How many Grounds should there be from the motor to the frame and or to the body, 1994 F150 XLT-5.0-automatic ??

13.32 @ 99.79mph
60' @ 1.86
Going for High to Mid 12's in 2012

www.kdracingteam.com
kidd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 03:52 AM
 
taisa899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 4,934
Send a message via MSN to taisa899
I just have 1 grounding strap directly from my block to my frame on my 96 Kirk



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!
taisa899 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 04:12 AM
 
Lone Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fernridge, BC
Posts: 712
Send a message via MSN to Lone Ranger
On most Fords there's the one main ground from the battery to the frame to the block/starter. This is more than enough, but there's several other smaller grounds as well for different accessories. Are you having ground issues at all? LR

Matt T.

'09 Ford Ranger FX4 with a mean owner
Lone Ranger is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
 
kidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham,ON
Posts: 79
Shutting Down then Restarts

Having a problem with my MSD when hooked in the truck runs for a while (20-30 min.) then wants to stall or does. Have been driving it then it stalls, have to restart, then the other night going from Windsor to Chatham it shut down then re-started while it was rolling but then I had to pull off at hwy.77 and it was like running on 5 cyl. and check eng. light came on and pushing Black smoke out the pipes. Called the wife for a ride home and while waiting I pulled the battery cable and let sit for 20 or so minutes, then replaced the cable and it started right up hitting on all 8 cyl. so I had the wife follow and I drove it to Chatham and it was running good, but on the trip from Windsor to 77 it hick-uped a few times and wanted to change gears but then switched right back again ??
Seems like I am losing power or the ground and it resets itself and it is more pronounced when the MSD is hooked in the system and if I unplug the adapter harness and go just reg. ignition the problem is not as often or as bad ??

13.32 @ 99.79mph
60' @ 1.86
Going for High to Mid 12's in 2012

www.kdracingteam.com
kidd is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 03:03 AM
 
taisa899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 4,934
Send a message via MSN to taisa899
Kirk check the ground that goes from the battery to the passenger side fender at the front beside the battery



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!
taisa899 is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 06:17 AM
 
swackly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omemee Ontario
Posts: 547
On my 91 f150 the computer is down on the drive side sort of near the wheel the wires would get loose and it would do the same thing I would un hitch the battery and get some contact cleaner and spray the plug to the computer It worked for me?
swackly is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 10:05 AM Thread Starter
 
kidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham,ON
Posts: 79
Ok thanks Jim , already cleaned that one good and will try what swackly said and I can make sure my SuperChip is still making good contact ion the J3 port.

13.32 @ 99.79mph
60' @ 1.86
Going for High to Mid 12's in 2012

www.kdracingteam.com
kidd is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
 
kidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham,ON
Posts: 79
Double post, sorry.

13.32 @ 99.79mph
60' @ 1.86
Going for High to Mid 12's in 2012

www.kdracingteam.com
kidd is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 03:00 PM
 
shelbyx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: bonnyville alberta
Posts: 2,401
sounds like your msd mod is overheating.


a moments silence for the shelbyx,i hope her new owner enjoys as much.
shelbyx1 is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
 
kidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham,ON
Posts: 79
New MSD Unit

No its mounted inside the cab and New from MSD as a replacement because of the same problem end of last season, and the box was checked out to be ok. This also happens when my MSD is not even hooked up, so the problem has nothing to do with the MSD.

13.32 @ 99.79mph
60' @ 1.86
Going for High to Mid 12's in 2012

www.kdracingteam.com

Last edited by kidd; 04-17-2009 at 01:34 PM. Reason: Information
kidd is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome