tachometer - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-2011, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
 
matthew13sanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to matthew13sanderson
tachometer

i have asked this on other forums and no one really can give me a straight answer, so hopefully one of you guys can help me i already know how to hook the tach up to the coil so dont sugest that to me!! :P

taken from my post on another forum

95 f150

i heard you can wire up an aftermarket tach to your wire harness even if you dont have a stock tach. so i took everything apart and im not totally sure what to do. in the pic you see a grey plug, which connects to the side with the oil pressure and temp, then the small black plug which conects in the middle of the cluster and then the brown plug which conects to the side with gas and volts.

the wire color for tach is usually green and there is only one solid green wire on all 3 of those plugs. the green wire is on the grey plug. so with that id assume that would be the wire id attach my tach to...only thing is, on my dads cluster (with a stock tach) his tach is on the right side, which would be the brown plug. so with that i would assume that the correct wire i need would be on the brown plug, because it to is attached to the right side of the cluster

so my question is if i should go ahead and wire my tach to the only solid green wire there (which is on the grey plug) or do i have to connect it to another color on the brown plug?



matthew13sanderson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-03-2011, 06:31 AM
 
Destructicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario
Posts: 1,510
Garage
Tach signal comes through on your brown plug. I'll look up the wiring in awhile. Why not just put in a factory tach. Change out the instrument cluster to one with a tach. It's plug and play.

Update...Tach signal wire is white with a pink tracer.

Electrician, powered by Tim Hortons, brought to you by Ford. Java Inside!
The Past - 1976 F-350 Crew Cab 1992 - 2006 RIP
The Past - 1995 F-150 XL Enforcer All Gear Drive 2008 - 2015
The Present - 1993 F-250 XLT Turbo Diesel Super Cab 4x4 2015 - ?
The Future - Who knows?
Destructicon is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-03-2011, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
 
matthew13sanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to matthew13sanderson
thank you!! and i was thinking of putting a factory tach in but id rather keep it with the original km on it

matthew13sanderson is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-03-2011, 10:27 PM
 
Destructicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario
Posts: 1,510
Garage
With a little work you should be able to keep the original speedo. I got lucky when I did mine because the truck i got it out of only had 1000km more that mine did. It also had a V8 and I have the I6. According to an Ethose Diagnostic Unit the tach is pretty much on the nose throughout the range. At least up to 3500 rpm.

Electrician, powered by Tim Hortons, brought to you by Ford. Java Inside!
The Past - 1976 F-350 Crew Cab 1992 - 2006 RIP
The Past - 1995 F-150 XL Enforcer All Gear Drive 2008 - 2015
The Present - 1993 F-250 XLT Turbo Diesel Super Cab 4x4 2015 - ?
The Future - Who knows?
Destructicon is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-05-2011, 10:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Erie Ontario
Posts: 17
I swapped my speedo into one with a tach,works great.that way its current when they mark klms on sticker renewal..
Sticky58 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome