check engine light - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
Ranger Forum ALL YEARS ALL MODELS

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradford, ont
Posts: 109
Garage
check engine light

hey guys
well I finally got my K&N air intake and installed it today...
however i mistakenly put the mass air sensor in the wrong direction and before I noticed my mistake the check engine light came on ,,
once I repositioned it so it's now in the correct direction how can I reset the check engine light/

thanks
I'm also looking into the superchip programmer what do you guys think and / or do you have a better idea for a programming device, I'd like to stay locall ( Bradford ,ont ) but would order from states.
any ideas and help would be great

Glenn
3323 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 05:04 PM
 
SKRWZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Burlington
Posts: 3,896
You can reset it by either using a scan tool or programmer or by taking the negative lead off from the battery for about 5 min

http://www.fordtough.ca/forums/signaturepics/sigpic435_3.gif
SKRWZ is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradford, ont
Posts: 109
Garage
thanks
I'll try disconnecting bat after dinner ,
also do you rec a programmer such as superchip ?
thanks
Glenn.

Ok just before I left for dinner with my wife I tried disconnection the bat terminal and so far things are back to normal for the exception that my truck now runs a whole lot better with the new air intake..
thanks for you help...
Glenn

Last edited by 3323; 04-14-2011 at 08:49 PM.
3323 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2011, 09:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradford, ont
Posts: 109
Garage
Hey SKRWZ
thanks again for helping my out the other day....
I almost went out an spent $150 on code reader to reset it ( if it worked )
here is the final product ..



Thanks again
Glenn
3323 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2011, 09:05 PM
 
lumberjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wallacetown
Posts: 2,701
Send a message via MSN to lumberjack
Thats kool right there I'm guessing it didn't come in chrome ? or you didn't like the chrome 1 ? very nice tho

Lumberjack
2010 F150 Supercrew 4X4
lumberjack is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 07:57 AM
 
HotShotMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia
Posts: 50
looks great! although if it were me i'd replace that k&n oiled cone filter with an aem dryflow filter. the thought of even a little bit of excess oil getting on my maf makes me paranoid as they aren't cheap to replace if they malfunction.

p.s. - i've used the oiled filter in the past on a civic and had no problems, i guess its just the stories i've read that made me switch.
HotShotMedic is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradford, ont
Posts: 109
Garage
in my 2004 elantra I also used a oiled cone filter and no issues there..
but thanks for the heads up I'll keep an eye on it.
3323 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 11:19 PM
 
meecraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: mississauga
Posts: 113
for the future if you don't want to wait the 5 min or so just disconnect the battery and turn your ignition on 2 to 3 times, then reconnect and you should be good to go. The truck may run like crap for a few minutes but it is just recalibrating/learning again lol
meecraw is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-19-2011, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradford, ont
Posts: 109
Garage
thanks but in the future I should pay more attention and not put the mass air sensor in backwords like a retard...lol
thanks though
Glenn
3323 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-19-2011, 02:27 PM
 
prairiethunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eatonia, Saskatchewan
Posts: 192
I see you were asking about the superchips programmer, I say go for it. I have 2 myself, and have many friends using them, all found they were the best. I ran a bullydog and an edge before i got my superchips, and i would never go back.

prairiethunder
2007 F-150 FX4
2007 F-150 King Ranch
1989 F-150 XLT
1949 F-1
prairiethunder is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Engine light Fordwheeler F-150 1997 to 2003 /04 Heritage Forum 4 03-19-2011 09:27 PM
Check Engine Light funford F-150 2004 to 2008 Forum 13 04-11-2009 07:29 AM
NEED HELP: Check engine light on oilman Excursion, Expedition, Navigator, Bronco, Explorer, Escape, Flex, Edge 5 10-09-2008 10:43 PM
Check Engine but no codes? truckguy94 F-150 Pre-1997 Forum 23 09-06-2008 03:36 PM
WTF- Check engine light? Viper238 Gas Engines 12 05-20-2008 12:52 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome