Non gps model - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
Super Duty Forum ALL YEARS ALL MODELS

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2014, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Non gps model

Just wondering if you never got the GPS option. Are you able to get a mod to get gps and maps?
Iceman-Brett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2014, 11:02 AM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,730
Garage
Depends on what year your talking about, on anything 2011+ the nav system is nothing more than an SD card you put in.

Years before that, you just used a CD to download to the on board hard drive.

I'm guessing if you wanted to get it from the parts desk you could.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2014, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
So if I was to get a sd card loaded with maps I could plug it in? It is a 2014 I just never got the nav package. Would I not need to get a annena for the gps or is it all built in?
Iceman-Brett is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2014, 01:39 PM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,730
Garage
If you've got the touch screen on the dash and satellite radio, you should be all good to go.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2014, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Oh cool where can you download the maps from?
Iceman-Brett is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2014, 06:32 PM
 
SVT4MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Elgin, Ontario
Posts: 4,730
Garage
I have no idea where you download the maps, anytime there's an update, I get a new SD card from Ford, the dealer techs plug it in and I go on my way.

801A - 6550 lb bundle of joy
SVT4MT is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 07:26 AM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
I've never played with the nav units on the newer trucks but I'm going to guess the sd slot is on the unit. So the main unit would need to be swapped in order for it to work.

Then your gps antenna, would need to be installed if it's seperate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viper238 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAR/TRUCK SHOW PICTURES: Model T Alberta F150 Other Ford Models 20 06-26-2014 06:17 AM
Free Maps for Garmin GPS DavidY Audio and Electronics 0 06-03-2012 02:17 AM
What GPS Navigation unit do you have? fordtough.ca Audio and Electronics 39 11-25-2009 06:35 PM
GPS location for some fun :) fordtough.ca Off Road 12 12-07-2008 07:50 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome