'08 F150 Factory Head Unit - FordTough.ca - Home of Canadian Ford Truck Enthusiasts
Audio and Electronics Alarms, Audio Systems, DVD and GPS Systems

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
'08 F150 Factory Head Unit

Eventually I'll be upgrading the head unit to a double din Nav unit, but for now I'm looking at getting a Kenwood KSC-SW1 powered subwoofer unit to fill out the factory audio. (it's small and compact and will fit under the drivers side rear seat.)

My question - Does the factory head unit have pre-outs/remote wire hook-up for a subwoofer? Or do I need to upgrade the head unit before I can install the powered subs?
Dazed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 02:11 PM
 
Smokefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 3,988
I believe it depends on the deck, for example there are decks that support the Audiophile system that may be capable of Splicing into for aftermarket.
What you need to do is find out if a company makes a harness that would convert that factory output to pre-outs. Even that is a stretch, so an aftermarket unit would be the more feasable way to cover the gap between now and aftermarket double DIN.

2011 Chevrolet Camaro RS2SS
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GXP
2007 Ford Crown Victoria P71


Smokefan is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
thanks for the reply, second question...if I buy a satalite ready head unit, do I need to buy the sirius receiver, or is the one already installed by the factory plug and play with all sat ready head units?
Dazed is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 03:45 PM
 
Smokefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 3,988
Sat ready means you can control the siriius thru head unit if you buy the extra module, the best thing is to just buy a plug and play(Stilletto, Streamer GTR) and hook it thru Aux for sound

2011 Chevrolet Camaro RS2SS
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GXP
2007 Ford Crown Victoria P71


Smokefan is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
but with having sirius already factory installed on my F150, does that mean that the module already in the truck will work with all sat ready head units?
Dazed is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 05:51 PM
 
Smokefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 3,988
Don't quote me, but I believe at one time pioneer was the manufacturer for Fords decks but I could be wrong.

2011 Chevrolet Camaro RS2SS
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GXP
2007 Ford Crown Victoria P71


Smokefan is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 06:00 PM
 
fordtough.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 7,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grafix Ink. View Post
you need a system that is made for that specific deck make..

sat ready kits are available for pioneer, sony, etc... check which one the factory deck is compatible with... contact selective sound if anything they can hook you up
Agree
Your Ford Sat module will not work with new head unit,
Also your Sat antenna may not plug in into your new module
Just a heads up



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
fordtough.ca is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 06:53 PM
 
Viper238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont
Posts: 3,353
Send a message via MSN to Viper238
Alrighty..
I'll fill some gaps..

That Kenwood unit prolly comes with a high-low level adapter built-in.. basically ability to tap into the high level output that normally goes to the speakers and inverts it and ampilfies it..

Now if you run RCA's for it.. you can install a simple hi-low level adapter
http://stingerelectronics.com/prodDetail.asp?strID=174
to create a RCA output from the deck to hook up to a amplifer..

Then when you swap out the factory you take out the adapter and plug the RCA's into the back of the deck..
The adapter is about $15 so no big loss..

As for a remote turn-on.. Get the wiring diagram for the radio wiring and tap into the Accessory wire. So when the ignition tells the radio to turn on it also tells your amp to turn on.

The factory Sirius module will only work with the factory radio due to the communication language (interface) it is only ford talk..

You will need a aftermarket sirius unit which you should be able to call sirius and get the ESN swapped if you still have free programming..
Viper238 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 08:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
thanks for all your help guys.

I love this site!
Dazed is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What GPS Navigation unit do you have? fordtough.ca Audio and Electronics 39 11-25-2009 06:35 PM
Swapping head unit and hvac Chuck P Audio and Electronics 8 07-16-2009 02:51 PM
Installed New Head Unit Justin1635 Audio and Electronics 4 09-29-2008 05:37 AM
Changed oil pressure sending unit today Larry227 F-150 1997 to 2003 /04 Heritage Forum 1 09-14-2008 05:10 AM
looking for a factory cdplayer for a 98 f150 duece F-150 1997 to 2003 /04 Heritage Forum 5 03-04-2008 08:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome